One of the real strengths of the 1988 National Championship Notre Dame Football team was a most formidable defense. There are two representatives from that defensive unit already represented in the College Football Hall of Fame, defensive coordinator Barry Alvarez and defensive lineman Chris Zorich. Just this month two more dynamic defenders from the squad were nominated for induction on the 2023 ballot. Notre Dame linebacker, Michael Stonebreaker and defensive back, Todd Lyght are poised to formally join the ranks of college football’s elite. Both were consensus All-Americans in 1988 as well as unanimous selections in 1990. While Stonebreaker was a tackling machine during his years with the Irish, Todd Lyght was a ball hawking cornerback that struck fear in the opposing teams passing attacks. Your teammates and brothers congratulate you both for making the Hall of Fame ballot. Like your presence in the huddle making the team stronger, your presence in our lives is a blessing too.

Two Former Notre Dame Players on the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot – Blue & Gold

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.